All Things Networking

So I’ve been doing a LOT of studying lately for my CCNA. I’ve been told it’s one of the toughest certifications out there in terms of what is considered “entry level”. As I’ve been studying, I’ve noticed that a lot of what I’ve learned hasn’t exactly been what I consider “published” material. Not that I mean to undermine any of the blogs or forums that I’ve read over the countless sleep-deprived nights.

So, over the course of studying I’ve taken note that I should, nay it should be my duty to start my own blog and contribute to the community.

I started studying with the two Wendell Odom books – ICND1 / CCENT and ICND2 / CCNA books which can be found here : CCNA Study Library

I also decided to pickup the CCNA Command Reference Guide which can be found here : CCNA Command Reference Guide

I then moved on the using Packet Tracer 5.3 and working with some of the examples that were presented in the books. I will be posting some of the labs that I’ve created later in the blog’s life.

Now, please don’t mis-interpret this as me being strictly Cisco oriented. Actually, my current employer is an Alcatel house. And I can’t lie, Alcatel has definitely made leaps and bounds in terms of quality and performance of their equipment. I will also discuss this more in the future as the Alcatel documentation online is VERY lacking.

That’s all for now, I’m going to work on compiling some of my stuff to post on my blog and I hope to sit for the exam in the next month or so. Fingers crossed!

Please feel free to contact me if you need anything and I haven’t re-posted again.

 

-Ed

Leave a Reply

