Up, Up and Away

So,

It’s been quite some time since I’ve posted to my blog and I feel it necessary to check in with everyone. I’ve recently passed the ROUTE portion of my CCNP and I plan on sitting for the SWITCH in a month or two. Only because I work with switching hardware more than anything else, do I feel more confident in that area of the ciriculuum. After that will obviously be the TSHOOT and that will conclude the track for my NP. If you’d asked me a year ago if I’d thought I’d be this far along in my studies I would have probably laughed at you. I thought of having passed even the NA to be a feat that I might not be able to obtain. But God and my family continue to be my driving force behind working as hard as I do. So, I will keep you all updated on when I sit for the SWITCH.

As for my WGU studies, I’ve not been concentrating on them as much as I should be, and plan on kicking that into high gear starting right after Christmas. I’m taking no technical courses this semester and I think that has derailed me a bit on wanting to study any of the course materials. But, I will do it to get it out of the way so I can finally finish the degree.

I’ve recently been thinking about what it would take to obtain a CCIE and I think I am going to continue on my Cisco studies after the NP and complete the IE. I want to have those numbers and have that feeling of accomplishment that so many other before me have. I am slowly building my library for the studies and I plan on having all of the litterature at arms length within the next few months. I am currently going by the reading list on Cisco’s learning network, but if anyone has any suggestions, I would gladly take them. I know this is going to be a long and arduous process. But totally worth it.

I’ve also been in my new position with CSC now for almost 90 days. I am working with a group of really smart guys and I am learning a lot from them. It’s definitely contributing to the wealth of knowledge that I know will be required for my attempt at an IE R&S. But, through my studies, I’ve also been able to contribute to the team, which is definitely a fulfilling experience. Being able to apply concepts and theory that I’ve studied so hard and watching them play out just as I’ve done in many, many lab scenarios.

I’ve got a few ideas still jotted down for some technical posts and I promise I will post them soon. Just trying to wrap up some loose ends before the holidays are here and gone. Off the top of my head, I can think of a RADUIS implementation post using Server 2008 R2 authenticating against Active Directory. While using Wireshark to verify PSK exchange between the RADIUS server and the end point device. Stay tuned!

-Ed

2 thoughts on “Up, Up and Away

  1. Congrats on the route pass. The IE path is a long and hard one but it is totally worth it. I’m getting close to the end of my journey hopefully. Still some way to go though. Send me an e-mail or a tweet if you want some advice on the writte. My advice is to not take it too lightly. You need the theory as a foundation for the labs later.

    Must have books:
    CCIE certification guide
    Routing TCP/IP by Doyle, both volumes
    Internet Routing Architectures by Halabi
    QoS book by Odom

    Books are great but don’t get too many of them. The reading list is kind of absurd. You can get the info needed from the books above and maybe some more and the rest of the info from Cisco or CCIE blogs etc.

    I highly recommend the Boson exam engine to prepare for the written.

Leave a Reply

