Service Provider Community

Earlier today I had asked on twitter if anyone knew of any SP specific podcasts, or communities. I was meet with a fair amount of information pertaining to the fact that there isn’t any such defined community out there, or at least it isn’t main stream enough for me to find it.

Speaking with a few people on the twitters, I was pointed to a few mailing lists to subscribe to for industry happenings from the Service Provider world. I’ll make this quick and list them below, and credit the individuals who provided them.

In no particular order these are the individuals that helped provide me information to compile this list :

Marko Milivojevic (@icemarkom)

Jeff Pazahanick (@jeffpaz)

Darren O’Connor (@mellowdrifter)

Scott (@visitorlnx)

Nick Buraglio (@buraglio)

And the list of mailing lists to subscribe to are as follows :

J-NSP (Juniper for Network Service Providers) – https://puck.nether.net/mailman/options/juniper-nsp/

C-NSP (Cisco for Network Service Providers) – http://puck.nether.net/mailman/listinfo/cisco-nsp

F-NFP (Foundry for Network Service Providers) – http://puck.nether.net/mailman/listinfo/foundry-nsp

Cisco-BBA (Cisco Broadband Aggregation) – http://puck.nether.net/mailman/listinfo/cisco-bba

North American Network Operator’s Group (NANOG) – http://mailman.nanog.org/mailman/listinfo/nanog

This is, albeit, a smaller list – but sometimes not drinking from a fire hose is nice, also.

Along with the mailing lists – I had asked if there were any podcasts dedicated to the SP industry. Ethan Banks (@ecbanks) of the Packet Pushers podcast pointed me in the direction of a newer podcast, The Class-C Block from CJ Infantino (@cjinfantino) and Matt Stone (@bigmstone) in which they’ve discussed some provider level technologies in the podcasts that they’ve recorded. I’ve listened to their second episode in which they discuss MPLS with Ivan Pepelnjak (@ioshints) as a guest. So far, I like what I’ve heard and I look forward to their further productions.

All in all, I’m a little surprised at the lack of a Service Provider level community as they’re really what makes the Internet world go round, but I look forward to the possibility of contributing to growing something along those lines.

If anyone else knows of any other popular mailing lists to follow, please feel free to leave a comment with the information and I will incorporate it into the post.

Edit : I had accidentally listed the Cisco-Broadband Aggregation link under the Cisco-Network Service Providers link. This is fixed and the Cisco-BBA link has been added to the list. Sorry for the confusion!

Leave a Reply

